Til The End— The Back Story

A Walk after School

Sept. 1984
It was a lovely fall day, thank G-d because today was going to be the day I was going down to RFK Stadium alone. I couldn’t get Colleen or Debra to go with me so I had to go it alone to sound check… the walk wasn’t too long and I knew I would get there in no time. I was scared though, because I never walked alone in a strange neighborhood.

Today I looked cute; I had on my acid washed Jacket and pants as well as my hot pink low cut shirt and my orange neon drop waist belt. I wore my favorite pink and orange geometric earrings and my braids were high up on my head. I was looking totally cool, and maybe a little hot.

Well the walk wasn’t too bad. I was short of breath from rushing but I could hear the music coming from the stadium a few blocks away. I knew I was missing some of sound check so I began to run. The closer I got the more excited I got. When I finally reached the stadium I came upon a cross walk. As I stood there waiting for the light to change, a dark grey or dark blue Mercedes approached where I was standing. I found it kind of strange that it would roll into the cross walk where I was waiting to cross. Once there however, the rear window came down to reveal a few black men inside.

I recognized Randy Jackson instantly. He had on aviator reflective sunglasses and had a huge smile, he waved and the girl next to me started screaming at the top of her lunges! One of the other males, also in glasses peered around Randy to watch the commotion. It was Jackie Jackson. I stood there in silence with my mouth held open! I couldn’t move I started hyperventilating but my eyes darted back and forth searching for the prize… Michael. I soon realized he wasn’t in the car.

At once Randy poked his head out of the window along with his hand to touch us. “Do you have tickets for the show?” I shook my head no (still unable to speak). He smiled and asked if we needed a ride anywhere. I told him I was going to sound check, he told me it was over and gave us his card with a number written on it. I took the card and asked “Is Michael there?” They all laughed as a group then, and said to call the number on the card or get inside. Well I had to get home, so I just took the card.

Later I kept remembering how Randy looked. He had on a sleeveless jean shirt that was unbuttoned showing all his muscles and skin and a tight pair of spandex pants. He was looking hot umm umm. I basically floated home knowing I had just met the Jacksons well, some of them anyway. A day passed and I knew the concert was coming up. We didn’t have a phone so I went around the corner to a friend’s house to use their phone. I didn’t dare say to them who I was calling!

The person that answered the phone sounded like an older man. He was polite and I asked to speak to Randy. Randy got on the phone and was excited I called. I was surprised that he remembered me. Anyway, we talked for about 10-15 minutes and he invited me up to see him just to hang. He asked me about some of my friends but I didn’t really have any to bring along. He asked about the screaming girl at the light with me, I told him I didn’t know her. So it was decided that I would go downtown and meet Bill (the man who answered the phone) at the Warner Theater and he would then take me to them.

When he said us, I immediately thought of Michael. He’s who I wanted to meet even though Randy was hot, my heart belonged to Michael. So with our meeting place set up, I ran home to get ready. I had to find something to wear. I decided on my green crop top mini skirt outfit with black leggings and black ankle boots. I did my hair up especially high and took time to apply my make up well. I told my mom I was going out with pam my best friend. She figured Pam and I would go walking.

I jumped on the bus… I had to take 2 busses to get to the Warner, the 94 to Pennsylvania Ave. and then any 30 bus. When I got there I stood outside the theater pretending like I was waiting for a companion to see the show there. Then a long black limo pulled up and Bill stepped out from behind the wheel and said “Mona Easton? I’m Bill” I smiled and nodded. He then opened the back car door for me and I got in.

The limo was nice with white leather sets and dark tinted windows. There were sodas and fruit as well as liquor and stuff for the taking. When I sat back in the seat I noticed something that looked like a television. Bill rolled down the partition window and told me to help myself and that we would be there shortly.

I was suddenly nervous oh my G-d, I was on my way to spend time with the Jacksons! (Michael, Randy, Tito, Jermaine, Marlon and Jackie) What was I going to do? I needed to be calm. My heart started beating out of my chest. and I got really hot I think Bill noticed it and he said “Relax young lady the guys are just boys, nothing to be worried about” He began to ask me about myself my age my school, my favorite subjects, what I did for fun etc.

I did feel better after that and then we pulled up to the back of the Mayflower Hotel. I was familiar with the Mayflower because my aunt and uncle worked there. I knew what to expect… it was expansive and beautiful with everything in gold. Well, for some reason I didn’t see all the gold. We took the freight elevator. I was a little disappointed but I figured that maybe they had to go this way in order to not be seen.

We reached the floor and we stepped out of the elevator and the hall was glorious! There was the gold trim I remembered and the red embroidered carpeting. There were chandeliers and it was simply the Mayflower.

We walked down the hall to a door in the corner, Bill opened the door and I stepped in. The first thing I saw was video games set up and a bunch of stuff all over the floor in that area. Everything else was white cream or gold. Bill went into one of the rooms and Randy, Marlon and Jackie came out. My mouth hit the floor and I think I began to shake. My mind kept saying “Where’s Michael? Where’s Michael”

One thought on “Til The End— The Back Story

Leave a comment